Discovering the Hill

THE HILL AT ONE GLANCE

Overlooking the town of Ronchamp (Haute-Saône-Burgundy-Franche-Comté), the Hill of Notre-Dame du Haut is an outstanding place for modern architecture and a centuries-old place of pilgrimage in Veneration of the Virgin Mary. Three architects worked at the top of the Hill: Le Corbusier, Jean Prouvé and Renzo Piano.

LE CORBUSIER

La Chaux-de-Fonds (Switzerland), 1887
Roquebrune-Cap-Martin (France, 06), 1965

Le Corbusier, whose real name was Charles-Edouard Jeanneret-Gris, was an architect, a painter, a sculptor and a designer. As early as the 1920’s he was he was an all-round artist, and the leading thinker of what modernity should be like.

Le Corbusier was a great theorist and he appeared as the leading light in the modern movement. He gave a visual definition of the modern movement with “five points of architecture”, which are a set of architectural principles: the free designing of the ground plan, the free design of the façade, the column principle, the horizontal window, and the roof gardens.

He pleaded for rationalizing building and for using new materials, particularly concrete, as he liked its neat aspect. Showcasing exposed concrete gave birth to “brutalist” architecture. Le Corbusier also strained to make his works more consistent by creating the Modulor, a system of universal proportions based on the scale of the human body.

 

ALL ABOUT

LE CORBUSIER

More information +

HIS BUILDINGS ON THE HILL

In 1955, Le Corbusier unveiled his works of art: the Chapel of Notre-Dame du Haut, two houses (the Pilgrim’s Shelter and the Chaplain’s House) and a Peace Pyramid, a monument ordered by veterans from Ronchamp who wished to commemorate the fights to liberate their village.

These four creations are inscribed on UNESCO’s World Heritage List, along with 16 other sites by Le Corbusier. This is as a part of a series called ‘The architectural work of Le Corbusier, an outstanding contribution to the modern movement.’

 

DISCOVERING HIS BUILDINGS ON THE HILL

More information +

“EIN BUILDING THIS CHAPEL, I WANTED TO CREATE A PLACE OF SILENCE, OF PRAYER, OF PEACE AND INNER JOY”

Le Corbusier

la chapelle Notre-Dame du Haut lame sud Le Corbusier Ronchamp
l'abri du pèlerin Le Corbusier Ronchamp
la maison du chapelain entrée soleil Le Corbusier Ronchamp
pyramide de la paix et colombe Le Corbusier Ronchamp

JEAN PROUVÉ

Paris (75), 1901
Nancy (54), 1984

Jean Prouvé had studied wrought iron, and metal remained the material of his efforts throughout his career.  As early as the 1930’s, Jean Prouvé was an architect and a furniture designer full of modern audacity.

His creed was to create well-designed, comfortable, and functional furniture that anyone could buy. This is the reason why he was well-known for mass-producing his creations, a field where he is deemed a pioneer in France.

At the request of the Chaplain, Father Bolle-Reddat, Jean Prouvé designed the campanile in 1975 (a crossbar with three bells), one of the rare religious works by this architect and designer.

 

ALL ABOUT JEAN PROUVE

More information +

HIS BUILDING ON THE HILL

Le Corbusier, who was a modernist artist, did not wish to have traditional music in his Chapel. He wanted electronic music, but the necessary circuits were never created. As a consequence, he did not want to use the two bells of Notre-Dame du Haut, which dated back from the nineteenth century, and which were put away.

In the 1970’s, the Chaplain, Father René Bolle-Reddat, commissioned a campanile, which is a bell tower separated from the church. He requested Jean Prouvé to make it, in order to call the faithful to mass.

The very simple structure consists of four steel pillars bearing the three bells.

The two bells from the nineteenth century are hanging on the right. The last one was cast in Annecy in 1975. It was inscribed with the names of Charlotte-Amélie-Yvonne-Marie in memory of Le Corbusier’s mother and wife. The bell is decorated with drawings by Le Corbusier: the open hand and the cross, which were drawn for Ronchamp, are the main elements.

 

DISCOVERING THE CAMPANILE

More information +

“NEXT TO CORBU’S WORK, NO MISTAKE IS ALLOWED, NOTHING SHOULD LOOK OUT OF PLACE”

Jean Prouvé

RENZO PIANO

Gênes (Italy), 1937

PToday, Renzo Piano perpetuates the humanist tradition dear to Le Corbusier’s heart. He is involved in buildings for cultural institutions. He has created many museums (Centre Pompidou in Paris with Richard Rogers in 1977, the Tjibaou Cultural Center in 1998), where the lightness of the building and of the materials are the main traits.

He favours natural light and fine structures, to create harmony between man and his environment.

With a view to long-lasting architecture, his works respect the site where they are standing and use as much as possible the natural relief of the land.

He is a modest and approachable man. His keen sense for detail gives his works an irreproachable perfection. Contrary to Le Corbusier, he mostly uses steel and glass, but he knows how to carry out the order and to adapt to the place, for example in Ronchamp, where everything was built in concrete.

AL ABOUT RENZO PIANO

More information +

HIS BUILDINGS ON THE HILL

In the early 2000’s, after Chaplain Bolle-Reddat died, the AONDH (Association Oeuvre Notre-Dame du Haut, owner of the site) wished to have a spiritual presence on the hill. The idea was to have a religious community living at the foot of the Chapel to welcome the faithful, the pilgrims and the visitors.

A new gatehouse, la Porterie, was designed to lead the visitor from the profane world to the site of the sanctuary.

As early as 2005, the Saint-Clare’s nuns in Besançon accepted to move up to Ronchamp. Renzo Piano, who was consulted in 2006, accepted this project and set to work immediately on the design of Saint-Clare monastery and of the new gatehouse.

 

DISCOVERING HIS BUILDINGS ON THE HILL

More information +

“A BUILDING SITE:  LOTS OF WORK, PASSION, FAITH AND HOPE”

Renzo Piano

Inscrivez-vous à notre newsletter

Skip to content

Découvrir la colline

LA COLLINE EN UN COUP D’ŒIL

Surplombant la ville de Ronchamp (Haute-Saône - Bourgogne-Franche-Comté) la Colline Notre-Dame du Haut est un haut lieu d’architecture moderne et un lieu de pèlerinage marial multiséculaire. Trois architectes ont œuvré au sommet de cette Colline : Le Corbusier, Jean Prouvé puis Renzo Piano.

LE CORBUSIER

La Chaux-de-Fonds (Suisse), 1887
Roquebrune-Cap-Martin (06), 1965

Architecte, peintre, sculpteur, poète, designer, Le Corbusier de son vrai nom Charles-Édouard Jeanneret-Gris apparaît dès les années 1920 comme le penseur de la modernité et comme un artiste complet.

Grand théoricien, Le Corbusier apparaît comme une personnalité phare du mouvement moderne. Il en donne une définition visuelle à travers les « cinq points d’architecture », théorisant l’utilisation du plan et de la façade libre, du principe des pilotis, de la fenêtre bandeau et du toit terrasse. Il plaide pour la rationalisation de la construction et l’utilisation massive des matériaux nouveaux, en particulier du béton dont il aime la pureté et le rendu. On parle d’ailleurs de « brutalisme » pour désigner cette esthétique du béton brut de décoffrage. L’architecte cherche également à donner la plus grande cohérence à ses œuvres en élaborant le « Modulor », système de proportions universelles fondé sur l’échelle humaine.

TOUT SAVOIR SUR LE CORBUSIER

En savoir +

SES CONSTRUCTIONS
SUR LA COLLINE

En 1955, Le Corbusier inaugure ses chefs-d’œuvre : la chapelle Notre-Dame du Haut, deux maisons (l’abri du pèlerin et la maison du chapelain) et une pyramide de la paix, monument commandé par les anciens combattants de Ronchamp, qui souhaitaient commémorer les combats survenus pour la libération du village.

Les quatre réalisations à Ronchamp sont inscrites sur la liste du Patrimoine mondial de l’humanité par l’UNESCO avec 16 autres sites de Le Corbusier dans le cadre d’une série « L’œuvre architecturale de Le Corbusier, une contribution exceptionnelle au mouvement moderne ».

DÉCOUVRIR SES BÂTIMENTS DE LA COLLINE

En savoir +

« EN BÂTISSANT CETTE CHAPELLE, J’AI VOULU CRÉER UN LIEU DE SILENCE, DE PRIÈRE, DE PAIX, DE JOIE INTÉRIEURE »

Le Corbusier

la chapelle Notre-Dame du Haut lame sud Le Corbusier Ronchamp
l'abri du pèlerin Le Corbusier Ronchamp
la maison du chapelain entrée soleil Le Corbusier Ronchamp
pyramide de la paix et colombe Le Corbusier Ronchamp

JEAN PROUVÉ

Paris (75), 1901
Nancy (54), 1984

Ayant étudié la ferronnerie d’art, le métal resta toute sa carrière la matière première de sa réflexion. Jean Prouvé est dès les années 1930 un architecte et dessinateur de meubles d’une grande modernité.

Son crédo : créer du mobilier bien dessiné, confortable et fonctionnel, accessible à toutes les bourses. C’est ainsi qu’il réfléchit mûrement à la fabrication en série de ses créations, domaine dans lequel il est reconnu comme un pionnier en France.

A la demande du chapelain l’abbé Bolle-redat, Jean Prouvé réalise en 1975,  le campanile (portique à trois cloches), l’une des rares œuvres religieuses de cet architecte et designer. 

TOUT SAVOIR SUR JEAN PROUVE

En savoir +

SA CONSTRUCTION
SUR LA COLLINE

Le Corbusier, artiste moderne, ne souhaitait pas de musique traditionnelle dans sa chapelle, mais de la musique électronique – l’installation prévue n’a jamais été réalisée. Il n’a donc pas voulu réemployer les deux cloches du XIXe siècle de Notre-Dame du Haut, qui ont été remisées.

Ainsi Le chapelain René Bolle- Reddat commande dans les années 1970 la réalisation d’un campanile – un clocher séparé de l’église – à l’architecte et designer Jean Prouvé, afin de pouvoir appeler les fidèles à la messe.

Le campanile est inauguré en 1975, pour les 20 ans de la chapelle.

La structure, très simple, se compose de quatre piliers en acier supportant les trois cloches. 

Les deux cloches du XIXe siècle sont suspendues à droite. La petite dernière, baptisée Charlotte-Amélie-Yvonne- Marie en mémoire de la mère et de la femme de Le Corbusier, est fondue à Annecy en 1975. Des dessins de Le Corbusier l’ornent : la main ouverte et la croix dessinée pour Ronchamp en sont les éléments principaux.

DÉCOUVRIR LE CAMPANILE

En savoir +

« A CÔTÉ DE L’ŒUVRE DE CORBU, IL NE FAUT PAS FAIRE DE BÊTISES, PAS DÉTONNER »

Jean Prouvé

RENZO PIANO

Gênes (Italie), 1937

Perpétuant la tradition humaniste chère à Le Corbusier, Renzo Piano s’est quant à lui engagé dans la construction de structures culturelles. Il se distingue par la réalisation de nombreux musées (Centre Pompidou à Paris avec Richard Rogers (1977), Centre culturel Tjibaou à Nouméa (1998)), où la légèreté de la construction et des matériaux constitue toujours sa réflexion fondamentale.

Il recherche la lumière naturelle et la finesse des structures, favorisant l’adéquation de l’homme avec son environnement.

Conçues dans l’optique d’une architecture durable, ses œuvres respectent et répondent au milieu dans lequel elles sont insérées, utilisant au mieux les avantages et les contraintes du terrain.

Personnalité modeste et d’un abord facile, son sens du détail confère à ses réalisations une perfection irréprochable. À la différence de Le Corbusier, il emploie surtout l’acier et le verre comme matériaux, mais sait s’adapter au lieu et à la commande – comme à Ronchamp où tout est élevé en béton.

TOUT SAVOIR SUR RENZO PIANO

En savoir +

SES CONSTRUCTIONS
SUR LA COLLINE

Au début des années 2000, après le décès du chapelain Bolle-Reddat, l’AONDH (Association Œuvre Notre- Dame du Haut, association propriétaire) souhaite assurer une présence spirituelle sur la colline : l’idée est d’installer une communauté permanente au pied de la chapelle, qui accueille les fidèles, les pèlerins et les visiteurs.

Une nouvelle entrée, la porterie, assurera le passage du monde profane à l’espace du sanctuaire.

Dès 2005, les Clarisses de Besançon acceptent de déménager et, consulté en 2006, Renzo Piano accepte le projet et s’engage rapidement dans la conception du monastère Sainte-Claire et de la nouvelle porterie.

DÉCOUVRIR SES BÂTIMENTS SUR LA COLLINE

En savoir +

« UN CHANTIER : BEAUCOUP DE TRAVAIL, DE PASSION, DE FOI ET D’ESPOIR »

Renzo Piano

Inscrivez-vous à notre newsletter

Aller au contenu principal